new mix for Dinzu Artefacts


once in a while, I have the pleasure of making a mix. enjoy this recent selection of recordings, electronics and moments at Dinzu Artefacts’s podcast series. thanks for listening and thanks as always for another invitation to work with w/ Dinzu.

https://www.dinzuartefacts.com/podcast/episode05

tracklisting & links below. thanks to all the musicians and labels who keep this going.

tracks:
domestic recording of speaker & battery test
Marcin Barski “conversation with father” Wandas Dream (Reading Group / http://www.readinggroup.co/rg12.html)
Kevin Corcoran “translucent and moving” states of instability (bandcamp / https://editionstympanum.bandcamp.com/album/states-of-instability)
Gonçalo F Cardoso “Ghost Crabs on Uhuru Beach (low tide)” Impressões de uma Ilha (Unguja) (Edicoes CN / https://goncalofcardoso.bandcamp.com/album/impress-es-de-uma-ilha-unguja)
Derek Baron “Recollects” Recollects (Reading Group / http://www.readinggroup.co/rg13.html)
Apinya Unphanlam “Destiny” Metaphors: Selected Soundworks from the Cinema of Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Sub Rosa / https://subrosalabel.bandcamp.com/album/metaphors-selected-soundworks-from-the-cinema-of-apichatpong-weerasethakul)
Taku Sugimoto “II (2016), from Songs” Short Pieces (https://takusugimoto.bandcamp.com/album/taku-sugimoto-short-pieces)
Theodore Cale Schafer “Crowd” (unreleased)
Cremation Lily “Feminine Listening” In England Now, Underwater (Alter / https://cremationlily-alter.bandcamp.com/album/in-england-now-underwater)
Victorine Meurent “Untitled 9” Even Less of the Harmony of Maine (Found Remains / https://foundremains.bandcamp.com/album/even-less-of-the-harmony-of-maine)
Andrew Pekler “Khao Sok Extension” (https://andrewpekler.bandcamp.com/album/khao-sok-extension)
mdo “with ulla straus” mdo & friends (c-minus / https://cminus.bandcamp.com/album/mdo-friends)exael “spilt” collex (west mineral ltd / https://westmineral.bandcamp.com/album/collex-ouest096)Lee Noble “Phase Melody for Tape Loops” Ashenden (Muzan Editions / https://muzaneditions.bandcamp.com/album/ashenden)
Etelin “Been Really Good Today” Hui Terra (Soda Gong / https://sodagong.bandcamp.com)
domestic recording of line work in a storm
Anne Guthrie “Hackle 2 excerpt” (unreleased)

2012 going going

Looking at a couple of internet signposts of mine, I realized that I neglected 2012 a bit. My bio blurb at Soundcloud is pretty out of date (just fixed that).  I dropped off a lot of my presence on genre-based forums.

I was very fortunate to find a change in employment, a feather-in-cap freelance project, another slow evolution in my kit, and continued outlets for my music and video practice.

in no particular order, releases from 2012 that hung around:

john talabot fin (Permanent Vacation)
trouble books concatenating fields (Bark and Hiss)
KTL (eMego)
muringa the unknown knowns (SOFA)
liars WIXIW (Mute)
wymond miles under the pale moon (Sacred Bones)
dunes noctulica (Post Present Medium)
michael pisaro/toshiya tsunoda crosshatches (Erstwhile)
jacob ullman fremde zeit addendum (Edition RZ)
jürg frey piano music (Irritable Hedgehog)
eliane radigue feedback works (Alga Marghen)
andy stott luxury problems (Modern Love) 
mites passing resemblance (CFYR)

another blanket tip to Students Of Decay for three records that really should not have been missed this year; En’s Already Gone, Marielle Jakobsons Glass Canyon and Alex Cobb’s Passage To Morning are all statement albums in current electronic music.

Thanks to Michael Jantz at Avant Archive and Steven Ramsey at Constellation Tatsu for publishing my work this year, and to Olivia Block & Experimental Sound Studio in Chicago, and Ben Kudler at Hamphire College for hosting performances.